Welcome to Maps of the Problematic

 Welcome to Maps of the Problematic, my second entry into the blogosphere.  If you’re bored and want to check out the first blog, click here.  Anyway, I just wanted to give everyone reading this a heads up as to what you can expect.  This is NOT a personal blog. You’re not going to get an extensive catalogue of my daily activities or a five hundred word essay on whether I should re-grow my caveman like beard.

For contexts sake, though, let me give just a little bit of personal information. I graduated from college this past fall with a degree in education and history.  Like most recent college grads, I am what I would consider to be underemployed.  I’m currently a substitute teacher, or as my brother would say a glorified paper reader.  One of the positive aspects of this otherwise hellish experience is that it does lend itself to a lot of contemplative time. In between reading and telling groups of acne-ridden 15 year olds to put their IPods away, I have a lot of time to just think.  Eventually, I started scribbling down some of these thoughts and thus the idea for a new blog was born.

So what can you expect from this blog?  Well, aside from film, television and literature analysis, there will probably be commentary on current events, a lot of links to websites and videos that I find interesting and/or amusing, and sports stuff (mostly basketball). Oh, and I’m sure you’ll find a ton of posts where I go on a rant about something stupid, like the people who run the Bud Light marketing department or the notion of high level college basketball player being described as “student-athlete.”

So I guess the biggest question is “Why should I bother to read this blog?”  I don’t want to get gimmicky in the first post, but here are a few questions that might help answer that for you:

-Do you view basketball games as an ideological struggle between two opposing forces?

-Have you been an active participant in a thirty minute debate about the ending of “No Country for Old Men.”

-After watching a film or television episode, do you immediately check it’s IMDB page?

-Do you consider “Con Air” to be one of the great comedies of the 1990’s?

 If you answered “Kinda” to any of these questions and you like to think critically about popular culture then you will find this blog interesting.  At the very least, there should be some entertaining ideas to consider.

 So that’s about it.  I’d love to hear any and all feedback.  If you have questions, complaints, or an idea for a new column please send them to mapsoftheproblematic@hotmail.com. I’d also like to have a few guest columnists here and there, so if that’s something you’d be interested in be sure to contact me. Thanks. Enjoy the ride.

-FC

~ by fc13 on March 29, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
