I’m Not Ashamed To Admit That I Kind Of Like Taylor Swift

I’m not going to lie to you, if I’m listening to my iPod and a Taylor Swift song comes on, I don’t hesitate to listen to it.  What can I say, her songs are catchy and I’m really not worried about losing the credibility that I never had to begin with.  I will say that a dude getting caught listening to “Love Story” would be embarrassing.  If you were blasting it in your car and someone pulls up next to you and starts laughing, it’s a definite face palm situation. 

 

I’ve always been opposed to that segment of society that automatically hates anything that is popular.  I’ll admit that I occasionally did this as a young, naïve high schooler, but when it comes down to it, the popularity of a band, movie, book or whatever should not affect how much you like something.  Why should you dislike Green Day simply because they get played more on the radio, ya know? 

This actually got me thinking about something that happened to me way back in my freshmen year of college.  My roommate (let’s call him Dwayne) and I were not the best of buddies.  One day I got back from dinner around 6 o’clock.  I turned the television on to find that “Titanic” was on.  I don’t like that movie much, but for whatever reason I left it on as I surfed the internet and half-heartedly wrote a paper.  The movie was near the end, where the old woman (huge liar, this lady) is making her soliloquy about what happened after she got back onshore.  I was getting into it, and at this very moment, the emotional climax of the movie, my roommate barges in with six of his stoner buddies to find me on the verge of tears watching a movie I don’t even like.  Needless to say, this did nothing to mend our already tenuous relationship and I ended up transferring later that semester.  Not one of my finer moments.

Pictured: Epic liar.

~ by fc13 on April 12, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
