George/Seinfeld

I saw this on Bill Simmons’ Twitter.  What can I say, I’m a sucker for these fake movie trailers that are pieced together from television shows. 

Watching this video got me thinking about how stupid the whole storyline with Susan dying was.  Other than the last episodes, this was by far the worst thing the show ever did.

I’ve been evaluating Seinfeld far more critically lately than I ever did in the past.  When I was younger, I would defend any criticism of the show with an almost religious zeal.  Probably because I’ve seen way more television shows in the past two or three years, but it is not looking as good as it used to.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s still probably the best sitcom of all time (although one could make a very strong argument for Arrested Development, assuming that it counts as a sitcom).  There’s no question it’s one of the top ten or fifteen television programs of all time.  

There’s no question the show started to slip after Larry David left following Season 7.  Though both seasons contain good episodes, such as “The Chicken Roaster,” where Jerry and Kramer switch apartments due to a Kenny Roger’s Chicken sign, and “The Little Kicks” where we get to witness Elaine’s horrendous dancing.  At the same time, there were a ton of episodes that were, while not neccesarily bad, so far removed from reality that it was hard to even laugh at it.  Episodes like “The Butter Shave” and “The Merv Griffin Show” are good examples of this.  Still, that’s not gonna stop be from watching Seinfeld five times a day on TBS.

~ by fc13 on April 29, 2010.

2 Responses to “George/Seinfeld”

  1. […] George/Seinfeld April 2010 1 comment […]

  2. […] show is so huge.  I’ll give you an example of its popularity: way back in April, I wrote a blog post about Seinfeld.  There wasn’t a whole lot to this post, to be honest.  I embedded a video some clown on […]

Leave a Reply

 
