Lost Is Ending Today. Now What Do I Do?

The final episode of Lost is today.  Man, it feels weird saying that.  I always felt like it would be around forever.  This is a show that has been an integral part of the pop culture zeitgeist since it’s first episode way back in 2004.  I have to admit that I’m a latecomer to the series: I watched the first five seasons in one torrent stretch from September to mid-October.  So I can only imagine what people who have been watching for years must be thinking.  It’s going to be strange living in a world without Lost, that’s for sure.

In terms of today’s show, I am fully expecting to be let down big-time.  I don’t see how they could possibly wrap everything up in one two-hour episode, and I’m sure there will be a maelstrom of complaining, mainly over internet message boards.  The thing I can’t figure out is how they’re going to connect the two worlds without making it completely hokey.  Some kind of time-traveling device?  Can Farraday get them back?  Or is this just a case of their consciousness being in two places at once?  I have no clue, but I’m intrigued as hell.

I wasn’t crazy about the last episode, “What They Died For.”  I just think Jacob’s reasons for bringing everybody onto the Island were complete bullshit.  So he basically is telling them that he made a choice to drag everyone onto this island.  Sawyer protests, asking Jacob why he felt it was right to screw up his life by taking him away from his life.  Jacob responds that none of them had happy lives anyway, so it’s not like they were missing anything.  Come on man.  Even though their lives might not have been great, the guy still completely ruined things for a bunch of people (Charlie, Shannon, Boone, Mr. Eko, etc.).  And why, if he had this big plan to make one of them his replacement, did he wait so long to tell them about it?  We don’t even hear about Jacob until Season 2, I believe, and we don’t see him until Season 5. 

Finally, for people who haven’t seen any of the show, here’s my suggestion: watch the last episode first, then work your way backwards, Memento-style.  Seriously, I think that’d be an interesting idea.  You get to see what the end is like, and then you go through all the different seasons slowly learning about why it happened the way it did.  Of course, a person endeavoring to do this would have to sit through a lot of episodes that are pretty irrelevant.  Any episode concerning the background of a character that doesn’t end up factoring into the story would be frustrating. 

So yeah, that’s about it.  As you can probably tell, I’m pretty excited about this episode, despite my misgivings about being given some pseudo-philosophy and being left without any definitive answers.  I don’t know if we’ll ever get a show quite like Lost.  People complain about it, but it’s so unique and the structure of the show allows it to span across different genres and styles.  I’m gonna miss it…

~ by fc13 on May 23, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
