Lost Series Finale: What The What?

Obviously, spoiler warnings ahead.  Also, I wrote this pretty quickly after the episode ended, so forgive me for any grammatical errors or if I’ve repeated myself.

Well, that was certainly not what I expected.  I don’t think it was necessarily bad, it just seemed like the show got overly religious very late in the game.  I was really looking for some ingenious wrapping together of the two universes, and it just didn’t happen.  If I understand it correctly, the entire sideways universe was heaven, or some kind of perfunctory period they had to go through before getting to heaven.

The on-island stuff was alright, although there was some stuff that was so cheesy/illogical that it kind of took away from my enjoyment of the show, to be honest.  The whole glowing river of light thing looks like something a group of under achieving 9th graders slapped together the night before the school film festival.  Lost is one of the most expensive shows ever filmed; they couldn’t slap together some better special effects?

Also: how the hell was Jack suddenly able to hurt Smoke Monster Locke?  Here’s the chain of events: Smoke Monster Locke, Jack, and Desmond all go to the glowing river.  They send Desmond down there to do, who the hell knows what, do something.  He goes down there, pushes a rock away, and suddenly everything goes to hell.  The water turns red and the ground starts shaking, which I guess is supposed to indicate that the Island is falling apart (you would think it would just blow up, and not take its sweet time, but I digress).

Anyway, big question mark here: why is Jack suddenly able to hurt Locke?  Like, up until this point Locke had been immune to bullets, right?  So why did pulling the plug make him mortal?  I’m also assuming that Locke could no longer turn into the smoke monster, otherwise he would have just turned into him and crushed Jack.  I don’t know, the whole thing just seemed a bit wacky to me.

Some mysteries that never got resolved/questions that I still have:

-What the hell happens to the other people on the island?  All the people that Widmore brought, the left-over Others (like Cindy and those kids from the tail-section)?

-Why did certain people (Walt, Miles, etc.) have special powers?

-I’m just gonna come out and say this: I still have no clue what the hell Jacob or the Man in Black are supposed to be.  Demigods?  Superheroes?

-Who built that giant statue where Jacob got killed?  Man, that one is gonna annoy me.

-Also, is the Man in Black that we saw in “Across the Sea” the same thing as the Smoke Monster?  We see the Man in Black get knocked out by Jacob and then float down the river, then the Smoke Monster emerges.  Does this mean MIB turned into Smokey, or that Smokey just absorbed his identity (like he did with Locke)?

-I guess the Hurley-bird issue will never be solved.  http://lostpedia.wikia.com/wiki/Hurley_bird

-Where was Richard in the church?  Did he and characters like Mr. Eko not make the cut?  I guess this might go back to the scene with Ana Lucia where Hurley tells somebody that she isn’t ready yet (presumably to move on).

-Jacob, I think, was invincible.  Right?  He couldn’t be hurt?  So why, when he passed on his powers to Jack, was Jack able to be hurt?

-I thought Jacob’s “protector of the island” initiation ritual was pretty weak, until I saw Jack’s.  Jacob at least used a cup and muttered some Latin before turning the reigns over.  Jack used a cruddy water bottle and didn’t say a word.

I don’t know, I guess I’ll have to watch this thing again to get a more coherent sense of what happened.  I can’t say I was thrilled with the finale, though I think it did clear up most of the questions.  I thought Desmond was rallying the troops for something more than a reunion though, so I was disappointed by that.  On a larger scale, I’m sad that Lost is over, as I believe I mentioned in my previous post.  As frustrating and at times cheesy as this show was, there’s no question it’s one of the best television shows of recent memory, if not of all time.  I’m happy to have been along for the ride.

~ by fc13 on May 24, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
