Nate Robinson!

Since everyone in Boston has been abuzz about Nate Robinson, I figured I’d throw myself into the loop.  I meant to post this after the game on Friday, but whatever.  I don’t really like Nate’s game; he’s too much of a chucker for my liking.  However, there is one thing that I love about this guy: his reactions after making a shot.  I’ll be honest with you when I say I haven’t actually seen Nate make a lot of shots, at least in his time with Boston.  But in that last playoff game against the Magic, man, he was like a little kid on Christmas.

There seems to be an unwritten rule in basketball that requires any player who has just made 1) a three-pointer or a traditional three-point play (lay-up and the foul) 2) a difficult shot (turnaround, fade away, hand in face, etc.) to put on the smuggest, most self-satisfied face imaginable.  It looks a little bit like this:

This is a look that says “I am the man.  I just made an incredible play.”  At the same time, blatantly celebrating is frowned upon, especially when you’re on national television and every move you make is captured by a camera.  So you can’t just go bananas (unless it’s a really big shot).  What 90% of the players do is what I’ll refer to as “the Kobe.”  Mickael Pietrus, aka Captain Smug, is probably the second best in the league at these kind of looks, though he goes a little over the top with the three fingers raised.

Getting back to Nate, every shot he makes he reacts like a seventh grader who just knocked in his first three in a game.  It’s just pure, unadulterated glee.  He throws his hands up, his smile is a mile wide.  It’s great.  I’d take that over “the Kobe” any day of the week.  Go Celtics.

~ by fc13 on May 30, 2010.

2 Responses to “Nate Robinson!”

  1. I think this series is real simple. Ron Artest is my x factor. Bynum and Perk are a wash. Gasol is better than KG. Rondo is better than Fisher. Kobe over Pierce (especially with Artest guarding him). Ray and Ron artest is a wash given their specific needs to the team. Van Gundy’s point last night is also interesting. Tony Allen crowds the lane. The Lakers are big and now they are tough. I do not see an answer in the near future for our Celtics.

    • Agreed that it’s a huge drop-off from 2008 when they had knock down three point shooters in Posey and House. I think the only way they win is if Rondo completely takes over. They’ll probably need a few monster games from KG as well; Gasol made him look silly in Game 1.

Leave a Reply

 
