Random Thoughts/Links/Videos

I didn’t really feel like/didn’t have any ideas for a full blog post today, so here are some random thoughts and a few links you can enjoy on this Saturday afternoon.

-So apparently there’s some kind of soccer game today?  I wrote a while ago about how boring the World Cup was, but it’s actually gotten a lot more interesting over the past week or so.  The one thing that still annoys me about soccer though is the stalling methods that a lot of teams seem to use.  In the Algeria/US game, it seemed like Algeria wasn’t even trying to win; they just played defensively and hoped the US wouldn’t score. It’s a little bit like watching pre-shot clock era basketball, where teams would just score and then take the air out of the ball for the rest of the game, resulting in outrageously low-scoring games.  Unfortunately, there’s no shot-clock like solution in soccer.

-Here’s a a great article from Cracked about a “Facebook detective.”  It’s written a little bit like a Raymond Chandler novel, good stuff.

-This is one of my favorite commercials ever.  It was on TV maybe two or three years ago.  Nearly brought a tear to my eye the first time I saw it.

-I had some time to kill the other day, so I ended up watching a little bit of Louis C.K.’s stand-up special “Chewed Up.”  I don’t ordinarily watch stand-up comedy, but it came up on my Netflix queoe, so I figured I’d give it a try.  I like Louis C.K. on “Parks and Recreation” (one of my favorite shows currently on tv) and he seemed like a funny guy.  His stand-up wasn’t bad either.  It was a bit raunchy at times, but he’s definitely a funny guy.  Check him out, if you get a chance. 

-These Star Wars propaganda posters were floating around the internet the past couple weeks.  Pretty awesome.

Here’s the original poster that the Vader pic above is based on.  Interesting.

LET'S ALL FIGHT - BUY WAR BONDS by HeadOvMetal.

Check out more of these here: http://www.cliffchiang.com/2010/01/25/i-will-follow/

-I missed the NBA draft the other night, but I was thrilled to come home and find out that the Jazz had drafted Gordon Hayward.  This might be a bold claim, but I think this might be the year that the Jazz finally break through, provided they can keep Carlos Boozer, that is.  I’m not saying that they’re going to win a title, but I can really see them at least competing and giving the Lakers a run in the Western Conference.  If everyone stays healthy, and with Hayward on the roster, they have the tools to make a serious run at getting Jerry Sloan his first championship.

-This is the worst batch of summer movies of my life.  Seriously, I’ve been trying to go to the movies for about two months and there’s nothing I can even justify seeing.  Grown UpsKnight and Day?  The Karate Kid remake?  With all the people raving about Toy Story 3, I might have to go see that.  I’m really just holding out until Inception comes out July 17th.

-Finally, here’s a video of a dog and a monkey fighting over some rope.

Bye now.

~ by fc13 on June 26, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
