Rainn Wilson (The Office’s Dwight Schrute) To Play The Riddler In Next Batman Movie?

An employee from Synocopy Films has reportedly leaked information to the press that Rainn Wilson, of The Office fame, is set to star as The Riddler in the third Batman film, according to this article from Buzzfeed.  I’d take this with a grain of salt; the movie isn’t slated to come out until 2013, so who knows what will happen with the cast.  That said, I’m not sure I like this news.  I love Wilson as Dwight, but there’s a huge difference between hamming it up with Steve Carrell on a TV show and trying to be the successor to Heath Ledger’s Joker.  And let’s be honest: Wilson’s filmography is pretty weak.  Remember The Rocker?  Remember one of the lamest scenes in movie history in Juno?  So we’ll see what happens with this.  I’m still holding out hope that Joseph Gordon-Leavitt will be involved in this film…

~ by fc13 on July 23, 2010.

2 Responses to “Rainn Wilson (The Office’s Dwight Schrute) To Play The Riddler In Next Batman Movie?”

  1. I’d like to be honest. I LOVE Rainn Wilson as Dwight but you can’t judge him based on one character type. I for one think he is a talented actor who wants to make an attempt as a different type of character. He is capable of both comedy, and horror. I think he will surprise us all. I have seen people who look TOTALLY wrong for a part who have surprised me and have become HUGE Actors because they went outside their zone and tried something new…I say, Go for it Rainn!!!

  2. I enjoy Rainn Wilson’s as Dwight K. Schrute. But I don’t think I’d care to see him play the Riddler. Who I WOULD like to watch play the riddler is Creed Bratton. That could be good. He’s got that creep factor and everything.

Leave a Reply

 
