Leeroy Jenkins

Today’s been kind of a slow Sunday for me.  Not doing a heck of a lot, bit of a stomach ache, no desire to do anything really.  I tried writing a review of Inception, but I just couldn’t figure out how to adequately sum up that movie.  I need to see it again, which is a huge annoyance considering the movie tickets are freaking 10 dollars these days.  Anyway, I figured I’d post one of my favorite YouTube videos of all time: Leeroy Jenkins.  If you haven’t seen or at least heard of this legendary video, it takes place in the online role-playing game World of Warcraft.  This particular group of guys has been working on a master plan of attack for some time, and are just ready to set that plan into motion.  Check it out:

I think the reason this video has become so popular is that most people know someone who is as into World of Warcraft as these guys.  In Richard Linklater’s underrated 2006 film A Scanner Darkly, Robert Downey Jr. says of the addictive effects of Substance D (a drug which a large portion of the population has become addicted to) that “There’s no weekend warriors on the D. You’re either on it… or you haven’t tried it” a sentiment I feel is pretty applicable to World of Warcraft.  You don’t meet a ton of casual WoW players.  At any rate, I feel this video works for the hardcore gamers who can laugh at their own self-seriousness, the people who have friends or family members who play, and even the people who close-mindedly despise the game.  Have a good Sunday!

~ by fc13 on July 25, 2010.

2 Responses to “Leeroy Jenkins”

  1. The first guy sounds kinda like you Fran

    • I can actually see you getting into this game, Lussier. Also, you never responded to my Facebook post sellout….

Leave a Reply

 
