I Am Finally Seeing The Social Network Today

I have been trying to see The Social Network for about three weeks now, yet every single time I’ve been thwarted.  I definitely have my misgivings about this film.  I won’t lie to you, I have a hard time picturing Justin Timberlake in a dramatic role, but sometimes people will surprise you.  David Bowie, for instance, had a really great role in The Prestige as Nikolai Tesla, so I guess you never know.  I’m also really getting sick of this Jesse Eisenberg guy, who is like Michael Cera’s annoying cousin.

But anyway, the critical response has been absurdly positive, so the filmmakers must have done something right.  And it’s a great story.  And I think the last movie I saw in theatres was…yikes, The Other Guys.  I think it’s safe to say that The Social Network will be better than that.  And, this is basically the origin story of Facebook, and everyone knows that origin stories are awesome (see Batman Begins).

Also, keep in mind that you don’t get to 500 million friends without making a few enemies.

~ by fc13 on November 11, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
