Courage Fail.

I was in the forest earlier today on a run when a squirrel came scuttling out of a bush. I didn’t pay it much mind; squirrels are always scurrying around trees, but they’re usually smart enough to stay away from humans. For some reason, though, this one decided to hurl himself in my general direction. He landed right on my bare leg. I had been in a pretty good rhythm and the thing startled me so much that I reacted in an embarrassingly cowardly manner. I let out a yelp of terror like some expendable victim in the latest Wes Craven horror movie and jumped as high as I could straight up in the air. The squirrel bounced off my leg, hit the ground, sat there for a minute, and then disappeared back into the trees. 

Luckily I was in the middle of the woods so no one was around to witness this pathetic display. This guy, on the other hand, had no such luck.

~ by fc13 on June 22, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
